Effective January 1, 2016, a marriage application is required to be completed in full and signed in one of the following ways:|
1) Both applicants may appear and sign in front of a deputy clerk of court in the parish issuing the license;
2) If both applicants are unable to appear in front of a deputy clerk of court, the non-present applicant may appear before a Notary and the other applicant before the deputy clerk of court in the parish issuing the license;
3) Both applicants may appear before a Notary and have the application signed.
||- The applicant appearing at the Clerk's office to apply for the license may bring a photocopy of the other party's ID instead of original ID. Appearing applicant must present original ID for themselves.
||- The applicant appearing at the Clerk's office to apply for the license must bring all required documents for themselves as well as the other applicant. (See required documents below.)
Military exception - the applicant appearing must attach a copy of the other applicant's military ID, and only the appearing applicant is required to sign the application in front of the deputy clerk of court in the parish issuing the license.
Download a Marriage License Application Form
A marriage ceremony using a marriage license purchased in Louisiana must be performed in Louisiana. A marriage is recorded in the parish where the
license was issued.
State law prohibits the
marriage of persons who are related by blood or adoption within the fourth
Applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license without parental consent.
If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age, consent of both parents is required. When an applicant is younger than 16, applicant must have both parents' consent and permission from a Judge in the form of a court order.
Parents must be same as named on applicant's birth certificate,
and must appear with current, official photo ID to sign permission
document. Parents must appear with applicants at time of
Sole custody documents presented by parents concerning
an applicant must be certified copies from a court. Provisional
custody by mandate documents and powers of attorney are not acceptable.
present official birth certificates/birth cards with raised
seal of the state. Please note: Driver's licenses, State identification
cards, military identification cards, passports, or naturalization papers
may not be substituted for birth certificates.
Original foreign language birth
certificates must be translated into English by that
country's consulate per La. R.S. 13:3725. No other
translations are acceptable. Foreign language originals must
be submitted along with original translations.
If either applicant
was previously married, applicant must provide a signed, dated copy
of the final decree of divorce, or if the former spouse
is deceased, a copy of the death certificate naming
applicant as surviving spouse.
Original foreign language
divorce and death certificates must be translated into
English by that country's consulate per La. R.S. 13:3725. No
other translations are acceptable. Foreign language
originals must be submitted along with original translations.
Social Security Numbers
Applicants are required to supply their
Social Security numbers, residence addresses, father's full name, mother's
full maiden name and cities and states of parents' birth.
applicant does not have a U.S. Social Security number, they must
appear in person at the time of application and
will be required to write, sign and date a statement, in the presence of
issuing clerk, stating applicant does not have a social security number because
applicant is a citizen of another country. Statement may not be
prepared in advance and brought to the Clerk's
Applicants must present current, valid, official photo identification. U.S. state issued
drivers licenses, U.S. state issued identification cards, U.S. military identification or passports (U.S. or foreign) are acceptable.
FEE and TIME REQUIREMENT - CASH ONLY
Marriage license fee is $25.00
plus $5.00 for each attachment, which includes affidavits and attestations,
declarations of intent, translations, releases, waivers or orders, judgments of divorce, death
certificates, minor's consent forms, and custody documents.
Applicants must obtain the marriage license at least three days (72 hours) prior to the wedding
ceremony. A marriage license expires 30 days from date and time of issue if not used.
Click here to download a form to request copies of a marriage license
Click here to download a Minister's Registration Form